this racism shit is tired

by redvultureblacksaffron

I am making this post while I am pissed off, fair warning.

If you are Kemetic (or anyone really, but this is the context I’ve seen this in) and you refuse to do anti-racism work on yourself, you are giving a portion to Apep

Do you understand that? Fine, I’m just a single devotee and I can’t tell you what to do or what the gods want. Or hey, you know, those deities of old had different values, and sometimes They want to do shitty things! Fine, sure, put whatever justification you want in this space. That’s yours to do. And I did just read an interesting post about how horsing Pan is about convincing Him not to rape people. But you know what? The horse doesn’t just let Him rape people. They draw boundaries and set rules for when He appears, to protect the mortals in His presence from being forced.

So it doesn’t really sit well with me to hear those reasons. I believe that the gods grow and change with us, but even if they don’t…well. I have boundaries. And one of those is that any god who wants to further a bigoted agenda shouldn’t even try coming to my altar, unless they want the biggest damn fight a mortal can offer. In my perfect world everyone would draw that line. Normally I think I am pretty live and let live, but this is just wrong. It’s wrong.

And yes, it is true that I am all for reclaiming Irish indigenous identities and traditions, and that I think we have a lot in common with a lot of other indigenous people. But that Irish-ness can only be reclaimed if we actively fight and stop using our white privilege, to the extent the world will allow us to do so. We can only build deep and respectful relationships with for example First Nations and Native American people if we do it in solidarity, if we do it by acknowledging that we are protected by white privilege in a way they are not, and that such unearned protection is wrong. Rewild yourself. Stop benefiting mindlessly from whatever privileges you have. It’s the right thing to do–the just thing to do–and it’s something you should do selflessly because you believe in equity. But do it for yourself, too. Whiteness is part of what has taken your identity, because we sacrificed everything that was Othering so we could have respectability, so we could have Whiteness and all the benefits it confers. Being anti racist is the way of truth and it benefits the whole world.

Here are some things to work on and do:

Ten Things To Remember: Anti-Racist Strategies For White Student Radicals

Oh and YES you should do this EVEN IF you have had your feelings hurt by Afrocentrists.

